127 candidates file nominations on last day


All in Haveri, Gadag, and Uttara Kannada

Tuesday, the last day of filing of nominations, saw a mad rush by candidates in the districts of Haveri, Gadag and Uttara Kannada with as many as 127 candidates making a beeline to the presiding officers’ office.

Haveri saw the highest number with 60 candidates filing 70 sets of nomination papers. Apart from former Minister C.M. Udasi, Congress rebel and incumbent MLA Manohar Tahsildar, BJP rebel and MLC Somanna Bevinamarad were prominent among the candidates.

Mr. Tahsildar filed his nomination papers from Hanagal constituency, where Congress declared Srinivas Mane, MLC, as the party candidate. Mr. Mane, who had submitted his nomination papers on Monday, took out a procession on Tuesday.

In Shiggaon, where BJP declared former Minister and incumbent MLA Basavaraj Bommai as the official candidate, Somanna Bevinamarad, MLC, filed nomination papers as an Independent. Ajjam Peer Khadri, former MLA, (Congress) filed his nomination papers.

In Gadag, 41 candidates filed 45 nomination papers for the four Assembly segments – Shirahatti, Gadag, Naragund and Ron. They took out processions before filing and offered prayers at different places of worship.

Prominent among those who filed nominations on the last day were Ramakrishna Doddamani (Congress), Shirahatti MLA, and C.C. Patil (BJP), former Minister. Candidates of JD(S), JD(U), BSP, Shiv Sena, RPI, MEP, and several Independents also filed their papers.

In Uttara Kannada, 26 candidates filed their nominations. Sunil Hegde, Roopali Santosh Naik, Dinakar Shetty, Sunil Naik (all of BJP), and Ramesh K.R. of JD(S) were among these.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here